What went wrong?

I’ve always done things the hard way. I was born like a piece of tangled yarn. The job is trying to untangle it, and I’ll probably go on doing it for the rest of my life.
 santiz  

 Karen Allen quotes (American Actress, b.1951)

The day-lily dye didn’t come out at all how I had hoped. I will try it again before the day-lilies have all passed. I had twice as many day old flowers to weight of fiber. The mixture was a great looking purply-red. I added the correct amount of alum and cream of tartar. I gave it plenty of time to “do its thing”. Disappointment. I’ll over-dye the fiber with some new concoction. Any reason why it may not have worked?daylily stain

I should say, “any reason why it didn’t work in the wool?” You can see from the picture just pinching off the spent buds dyed spots on my sweatshirt. A nice purple…don’t you think?



One Response

  1. http://greensleeves.typepad.com/berkshires/2008/07/how-much-is-tha.html
    This is the site for how the British dyed their coat’s. Hope you you find this helpful.

Leave a Reply

