Yarn Bombing

 

yarnbomb graffiti

 Yarn Bombing: The Art of Crochet and Knit Graffiti! By Mandy Moore with Leanne Prain

You probably thought that knitting was some sedate craft for elderly ladies. Yarn Bombing is out there. Be aware…the threat level of seeing yarn graffiti in your area may currently be at “Guarded Level Blue”. But, now that the Yarn Bombing book is in publication, the numbers of Guerilla Knitters will be growing. It will catch on and the alert level may switch to “Elevated Level Yellow” soon.

You ask, “What is this all about?”yarn bombing

It is about knitting and crocheting items that are for public spaces, Knit Graffiti. Sweaters for statues, covers for parking meters, a bus covered in yarn, a street sign cozy, tree warmers, a lamppost wrap …look at some examples by clicking on the picture of the book.

Graffiti Cans

Graffiti Cans

 

Guerilla knitters are here, and they are from all walks of life. The girl next door, the mother-to-be down the street and maybe even the bus driver. These knitters have come out of the house and are now knitting in public and creating art. Well at least making people smile, so take a second look.

Knitting needles are dangerous weapons……in the hands of knitters. It is a passion, an obsession, and a great way to reduce stress while creating something for yourself or a gift.
Knit Graffiti is cropping up all over the world. Have you seen any in your travels? Please let me know where.  I am looking forward to seeing it myself. We have a statue of a dog walker, walking several dogs  in town…winter is coming…maybe the dogs need sweaters.

Yarn Bombed

6 Responses

  1. I was so excited when I noticed a yarn-bombed bench on 17th avenue in downtown Calgary, AB Canada. It’s been there for a few months now. I am anxious to start some bombing of my own here in Calgary. I’m in a knitting/crochet club that meets up every Saturday morning but nobody there seems too keen on the idea. Some of the girls I work with are in to yarn crafts as well, so I am trying to set up a crew and we will get busy! Will keep you posted once we get things underway 🙂

    • Send me a picture when you yarn bomb. Whenever I pass my dog walker, I smile. I noticed last week someone readjusted his hat. This week his hat is gone. I hope someone liked it so much or needed it, that they took it to use. Next winter I will have dog coats made. 🙂

    • HEY!
      I’m the one responsible for that bench on 17th avenue you referred to. WhAt is gOinG ON?? With da BOmBs??

      I’ve been busy in Sunnyside….

      Please please please get in touch with me!!!!

  2. […] Yarnbombing.com |  The Sun |  Shine 88.9FM |  Molivermade Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)What weekend?You’re BeautifulMonkey of the […]

  3. Hello!

    I have not checked on here for SO long, sorry! I saw more bombing this weekend in Kensington, your work too I presume? We need to chat! Email me: smh_23@hotmail.com

  4. […] Yarn Bombing September 2009 5 comments 4 […]

Leave a Reply

