Hand Dyeing…

 

Take a good look at this cover: That’s the magic of dyeing. Fiber and fleece changed from one color to another…then more magic as you spin or knit the hand dyed yarn. Physically, the book is spiral bound with a hard cover. The plus; it lays flat while reading the recipe and mixing up the colors. I love color, and she creates a color wheel with dyed fiber. I want to do that, as soon as the weather gets warm. I will also get to try out the pots my mother gave me when she was moving. 

She dyed commercial white yarn on a cone, several colors.

Her tip is…Keep dyeing it to you like the color. She does touch upon making muddy colors, and how that can unfortunately happen.

Hand Dyeing Yarn and Fleece by Gail Callahan               Storey publishing

Spring is coming in our neck of the woods…well in a few weeks. My yard will be filled with plants, I can use for dyeing. What have you dyed lately?

 Examiner  for a video and slideshow of the book.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for the very nice review of my book. I’d love to do a demo if that makes sense. Spring does wake up color doesn’t it?
    Best, Gail

Leave a Reply

