Hair of the Dog

The white part of this hat is spun dog yarn. A friend gave me the fur and I spun it. I used all the yarn in making this hat. The white stripe is dog, then I plyed it with brown mohair for the transition and finished off the top of the hat with the brown mohair.

 The sweaters above were knitted from the dogs in the photos.

Dog fur is 80% warmer than wool. When cleaned there is no smell.  What’s your opinion on this? People do have very strong opinions when it comes to their animals.

Knitting examiner

3 Responses

  1. I think this is an absolutely ingenious idea!

    What better way to bond with your pack than wearing the same fur. For although the smell of the spun dog fur is minimal to us, don’t think for a minute it doesn’t attract the sniffers of all the animals around you. Who needs a pet portrait if you can wear an article of clothing made from a beloved pet’s recycled winter coat., spun clean. I personally would love to see not only winter wear but, crocheted flower pendants and fine angora-like summer sweaters made with the stuff. Way cool MoliverMade! You can have my sheltie’s white undercoat any day!
    Mona Krinke

  2. Wow, that is great! I heard that you could spin dog’s fur ages ago but I never thought you could knit stuff from it. Fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

