Radical Knits

 

photo by annika aschberg

 

Sandra Backlund a Swedish Designer.  Describing her process she says, “I build my garments by hand from a couple of basic bricks which I multiply and attach to each other in different ways to discover the shape that I want.” Backlund goes on to say, “My work is very personal to me. I improvise and allow myself to loose control and see what happens if I do not think so much about practical things. The human body is always the starting point.”

These are knit with wool and Alpaca yarn. The designs premiered at London Fashion week this past September. She designs as she knits. How is that for inspiration.  I am impressed. She calls this heavy wool collage knitting.

Knitting

Leave a Reply

